VorsorgedepotLotse
Union Investment Logo
Fund company3 products

Union Investment Altersvorsorgedepot: costs, variants and terms

Union Investment (Volks- und Raiffeisenbanken) has announced 3 products for the Altersvorsorgedepot (Germany's new state-subsidised retirement investment account): UniVorsorge Basis, UniVorsorge Pro, UniVorsorge Garantie. This page lists everything Union Investment has published about it so far, with the source and the time we retrieved it.

Before launch

Early registration: NoneSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)

Not sure which account fits you?

A free, no-obligation conversation with an independent adviser.

UniVorsorge Basis

Variant not announced

Costs

Total cost p.a.
not yet published; according to Union 'well below' the 1% cost capannouncedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Account or contract feeFund costs (TER)Refund of fund costsFront-end loadSavings plan feeFee for purchases and salesDepends on pricing planCost of switching providerCosts in the payout phase

Investment

Who decides on the investment
Equity/bond ETF split set by the customer (up to 100% equities); life-cycle model before retirementSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Growth component
active global equity ETF (Quoniam; name/ISIN not yet published)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Low-risk component
active bond ETF (Quoniam; name/ISIN not yet published)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Initial allocation
chosen by the customer, equity share up to 100%Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Shift before retirement
5 years before retirement equity share cut to 50%, 2 years before to 30%Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Investment choice
2 active ETFs (equities + bonds)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)

Contributions and switching

Minimum contribution
€120 p.a. minimum own contribution for the subsidy (statutory); product-specific minimum instalment not statedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Pausing contributions
Contributions adjustable at any time (contribution pause not explicitly mentioned)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Riester transfer
transfer of Riester savings into the AVD possible from 1.1.2027 (final); costs not statedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Lump-sum paymentsAllowance application

Payout

Drawdown plan
Drawdown plan until the 85th birthday; allocation from the end of the accumulation phase stays invested; 30% lump-sum withdrawal possibleSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Life annuity
No – Union Investment may not offer a life annuity; switching to an insurer at the start of the payout phase is provided for by lawSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Withdrawal for owner-occupied property

Opening an account

How to sign up
personal advice at Volks- und Raiffeisenbanken (exclusive to cooperative banks)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Special features
active instead of passive ETFs in the Standarddepot; 'further product details to follow'Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:RequirementsCertification

UniVorsorge Pro

Self-directed accountSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)

Costs

Total cost p.a.
not yet published; 'mid-price range, cheaper than Riester'announcedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Account or contract feeFund costs (TER)Refund of fund costsFront-end loadSavings plan feeFee for purchases and salesDepends on pricing planCost of switching providerCosts in the payout phase

Investment

Who decides on the investment
managed (actively managed equity fund portfolio, end-of-term management)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Shift before retirement
Maturity management from 10 years before retirementSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Growth componentLow-risk componentInitial allocationInvestment choice

Contributions and switching

Minimum contribution
€120 p.a. minimum own contribution for the subsidy (statutory); product-specific minimum instalment not statedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Pausing contributions
Contributions adjustable at any time (contribution pause not explicitly mentioned)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Riester transfer
transfer of Riester savings into the AVD possible from 1.1.2027 (final); costs not statedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Lump-sum paymentsAllowance application

Payout

Drawdown plan
Drawdown plan until at least the 85th birthday, still invested in the capital marketSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Life annuity
No – Union Investment may not offer a life annuity; switching to an insurer at the start of the payout phase is provided for by lawSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Withdrawal for owner-occupied property

Opening an account

How to sign up
personal advice at Volks- und Raiffeisenbanken (exclusive to cooperative banks)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:RequirementsCertificationSpecial features

UniVorsorge Garantie

With guaranteeSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)

Costs

Total cost p.a.
not yet published; 'mid-price range'announcedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Account or contract feeFund costs (TER)Refund of fund costsFront-end loadSavings plan feeFee for purchases and salesDepends on pricing planCost of switching providerCosts in the payout phase

Investment

Who decides on the investment
managed (balanced global equity and bond portfolio)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Growth component
global equity portfolio (funds not yet published)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Shift before retirement
Investment mechanism (CPPI) to secure the 100% guarantee at the start of the payout phaseSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Contribution guarantee
100% of contributions and allowances at the end of the accumulation phaseSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Low-risk componentInitial allocationInvestment choice

Contributions and switching

Minimum contribution
€120 p.a. minimum own contribution for the subsidy (statutory); product-specific minimum instalment not statedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Pausing contributions
Contributions adjustable at any time (contribution pause not explicitly mentioned)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Riester transfer
transfer of Riester savings into the AVD possible from 1.1.2027 (final); costs not statedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Lump-sum paymentsAllowance application

Payout

Drawdown plan
Drawdown plan until at least the 85th birthdaySource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Life annuity
No – Union Investment may not offer a life annuity; switching to an insurer at the start of the payout phase is provided for by lawSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Withdrawal for owner-occupied property

Opening an account

How to sign up
personal advice at Volks- und Raiffeisenbanken (exclusive to cooperative banks)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:43 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:RequirementsCertificationSpecial features

More providers: Fund company

Not sure which account fits you?

Get free, independent advice. We'll help you find the right account and the right path into the Altersvorsorgedepot from 2027.

Free and without obligation.