VorsorgedepotLotse
N26 Logo
Direct bank2 products

N26 Altersvorsorgedepot: costs, variants and terms

N26 has announced 2 products for the Altersvorsorgedepot (Germany's new state-subsidised retirement investment account): Standarddepot (product name not yet announced), Altersvorsorgedepot (self-directed variant, product name not yet announced). This page lists everything N26 has published about it so far, with the source and the time we retrieved it.

Before launch

Early registration: Pre-registrationSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)

Not sure which account fits you?

A free, no-obligation conversation with an independent adviser.

Standarddepot (product name not yet announced)

StandarddepotSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)

Costs

Not yet published:Total cost p.a.Account or contract feeFund costs (TER)Refund of fund costsFront-end loadSavings plan feeFee for purchases and salesDepends on pricing planCost of switching providerCosts in the payout phase

Investment

Who decides on the investment
managed (fixed portfolio)announcedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Initial allocation
depends on age (initially higher-risk ETFs)announcedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Shift before retirement
automatic shift into lower-risk investments before retirementannouncedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Investment choice
ETFs (not named)announcedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Growth componentLow-risk componentContribution guarantee

Contributions and switching

Minimum contribution
€120 per year (minimum contribution for the subsidy)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Pausing contributions
Yes, stop contributions and resume at any timeSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Allowance application
one-off subsidy application; N26 submits it (costs not stated)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Lump-sum paymentsRiester transfer

Payout

Drawdown plan
monthly withdrawals from the year you turn 65; up to 30% as a lump-sum payoutSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Life annuityWithdrawal for owner-occupied property

Opening an account

Start
from January 2027, subject to certificationannouncedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:RequirementsCertificationSpecial features

Altersvorsorgedepot (self-directed variant, product name not yet announced)

Self-directed accountSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)

Costs

Not yet published:Total cost p.a.Account or contract feeFund costs (TER)Refund of fund costsFront-end loadSavings plan feeFee for purchases and salesDepends on pricing planCost of switching providerCosts in the payout phase

Investment

Who decides on the investment
self-directedannouncedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Growth component
Choice of ETFs and fundsannouncedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Low-risk component
Choice of ETFs and fundsannouncedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Investment choice
subsidy-eligible ETFs and funds (range not stated)announcedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Initial allocationShift before retirementContribution guarantee

Contributions and switching

Minimum contribution
€120 per year (minimum contribution for the subsidy)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Pausing contributions
Yes, stop contributions and resume at any timeSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Allowance application
one-off subsidy application; N26 submits it (costs not stated)Source ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Lump-sum paymentsRiester transfer

Payout

Drawdown plan
monthly withdrawals from the year you turn 65; up to 30% as a lump-sum payoutSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:Life annuityWithdrawal for owner-occupied property

Opening an account

Start
from January 2027, subject to certificationannouncedSource ↗ · retrieved 21 October 2026 at 13:19 (Berlin time)
Not yet published:RequirementsCertificationSpecial features

More providers: Direct bank

Not sure which account fits you?

Get free, independent advice. We'll help you find the right account and the right path into the Altersvorsorgedepot from 2027.

Free and without obligation.